Author Topic: Top menu  (Read 2944 times)

Offline hackerman1

  • Visiting Experts
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Top menu
« on: August 10, 2015, 02:15:38 pm »
There are 2 links in the Top Menu; "Show unread posts since last visit." & "Show new replies to your post."
In the lower-left corner under Forum Stats there is a link: View the most recent posts on the forum
But this link is only available on the main page (http://calendarofupdates.org/index.php)
Which means that each time you want to use that link you have to go to that page, and then scroll down to the bottom.
This is not very practical...

I suggest adding (copying / moving) that link to the first line in the Top Menu.
Having it at the top together with all the others ( Home, Search, etc) would make it a lot easier to keep track of all new posts.



« Last Edit: August 10, 2015, 02:28:23 pm by hackerman1 »
Administrator on Windows Server to Workstation Forum
Moderator (and "undercover" Administrator) on The Windows Club Forum

Security: USER-account, EAM-full, Comodo´s Defence+ (HIPS), Windows FW, WinPatrol+, HOSTS-file, UAC (max), Sandboxie, EMET,
Pale Moon with Noscript & AD-Block, 2 working "optical input units" & "CPU".

Offline Corrine

  • The Mystical Rose
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 253
  • The Mystical Rose
    • View Profile
    • Security Garden
Re: Top menu
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2015, 02:39:29 pm »
There is no option to move the Forum Stats to the top.  Doing so would require a coder to go in and do a major edit to the forum software -- definitely not desirable.  An alternative would be to change the setting for "Number of recent posts to display on board index" under Themes and Layout > Manage and Install > Theme Settings > Theme Options and Preferences from 0 to 10, for example.


Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!

Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted.
May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

Offline MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • I.T. Mate
Re: Top menu
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2015, 02:53:56 pm »
Added.
Regards

Steven Burn
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Offline hackerman1

  • Visiting Experts
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Top menu
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2015, 03:01:04 pm »
Thank you.
But, it looks a bit weird...
It´s split on 2 lines.
Pehaps it can be adjusted ?
Administrator on Windows Server to Workstation Forum
Moderator (and "undercover" Administrator) on The Windows Club Forum

Security: USER-account, EAM-full, Comodo´s Defence+ (HIPS), Windows FW, WinPatrol+, HOSTS-file, UAC (max), Sandboxie, EMET,
Pale Moon with Noscript & AD-Block, 2 working "optical input units" & "CPU".

Offline MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • I.T. Mate
Re: Top menu
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2015, 03:04:24 pm »
What is your resolution? (its' on a single line here)
Regards

Steven Burn
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Offline hackerman1

  • Visiting Experts
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Top menu
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2015, 03:12:35 pm »
1366 x 768.
The text (on almost all forums) is to small so i have "zoomed in" 1 step.
When i reset the magnification to default the link is on 1 line.

I was just about to suggest  "fixing" it by renaming the link to something shorter that would fit on 1 line,
even when "zoomed in" 1 or 2 steps.
Perhaps it could be renamed to "Latest Posts" or "Recent Posts" ?
That would solve it.
Administrator on Windows Server to Workstation Forum
Moderator (and "undercover" Administrator) on The Windows Club Forum

Security: USER-account, EAM-full, Comodo´s Defence+ (HIPS), Windows FW, WinPatrol+, HOSTS-file, UAC (max), Sandboxie, EMET,
Pale Moon with Noscript & AD-Block, 2 working "optical input units" & "CPU".

Offline MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • I.T. Mate
Re: Top menu
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2015, 03:23:04 pm »
I actually renamed it (well, trimmed it) after replying ;)
Regards

Steven Burn
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Offline hackerman1

  • Visiting Experts
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Top menu
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2015, 04:11:34 pm »
The title is still to long, It´s remains split on 2 lines....
Administrator on Windows Server to Workstation Forum
Moderator (and "undercover" Administrator) on The Windows Club Forum

Security: USER-account, EAM-full, Comodo´s Defence+ (HIPS), Windows FW, WinPatrol+, HOSTS-file, UAC (max), Sandboxie, EMET,
Pale Moon with Noscript & AD-Block, 2 working "optical input units" & "CPU".

Offline MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • I.T. Mate
Re: Top menu
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2015, 04:38:02 pm »
See if that's any better
Regards

Steven Burn
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Offline hackerman1

  • Visiting Experts
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Top menu
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2015, 05:32:00 pm »
Yes, now it´s short enough even for zooming 1-2 steps.
When zooming 3 steps, which is really big text and not used by me, the link is shifted down to the second line,
which actually doesn´t matter because it´s the whole link, and not parts of it.
Problem solved.

I suggested renaming the title because i´m probably not the only one that needs to zoom in a step or two.
Thank you.
Administrator on Windows Server to Workstation Forum
Moderator (and "undercover" Administrator) on The Windows Club Forum

Security: USER-account, EAM-full, Comodo´s Defence+ (HIPS), Windows FW, WinPatrol+, HOSTS-file, UAC (max), Sandboxie, EMET,
Pale Moon with Noscript & AD-Block, 2 working "optical input units" & "CPU".

Offline MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • I.T. Mate
Re: Top menu
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2015, 05:33:36 pm »
No problem
Regards

Steven Burn
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Offline hackerman1

  • Visiting Experts
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Top menu
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2015, 11:38:32 am »
Please forgive me for being a PITA but i want to mention 2 minor errors.

1. The title of the link is "Latest Posts", but the path of the list you get is: "Calendar of Updates »  Recent Posts".
I suggest either to change the title or the path shown so it uses the same terminology.

2. When viewing a members profile the title of the link is changed to "Latest posts of:",
which of course it not correct since the link goes to "Latest Posts", not the posts made by that member.
I assume the link is supposed to be "Latest Posts",
since there is another link in the left-menu "Show Posts" that lists posts made by that member.


Administrator on Windows Server to Workstation Forum
Moderator (and "undercover" Administrator) on The Windows Club Forum

Security: USER-account, EAM-full, Comodo´s Defence+ (HIPS), Windows FW, WinPatrol+, HOSTS-file, UAC (max), Sandboxie, EMET,
Pale Moon with Noscript & AD-Block, 2 working "optical input units" & "CPU".

Offline MysteryFCM

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • I.T. Mate
Re: Top menu
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2015, 11:42:50 am »
Changed
Regards

Steven Burn
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Offline hackerman1

  • Visiting Experts
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Top menu
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2015, 12:19:09 pm »
Thanks.
Administrator on Windows Server to Workstation Forum
Moderator (and "undercover" Administrator) on The Windows Club Forum

Security: USER-account, EAM-full, Comodo´s Defence+ (HIPS), Windows FW, WinPatrol+, HOSTS-file, UAC (max), Sandboxie, EMET,
Pale Moon with Noscript & AD-Block, 2 working "optical input units" & "CPU".