Author Topic: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?  (Read 3518 times)

Offline hayc59

  • Esquire
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Your A Daisy
    • View Profile
Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« on: September 02, 2016, 01:58:13 am »
Just something I have heard that a router will protect as good or better
true or false..thank you


9.11.01

Microsoft® Windows Insider MVP
Freedom's Just Another Word for Nothing Left to Lose..


Offline Hardhead

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2016, 02:39:26 am »
Yes it's a good idea to to have both Gordon. Yes I know several people that use just a router but you really need to be good at what you doing. Run both Gordon. 

Offline hewee

  • Most Valuable Member
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2016, 09:15:53 am »
I would say both is best.

Test out what happens both ways and together at ShieldsUP!
https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

Keep Your Security Software Current
Upgrades, Updates & Definitions
http://www.calendarofupdates.org


Offline mark5019

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2016, 02:04:14 pm »
i run both

Offline hayc59

  • Esquire
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Your A Daisy
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2016, 04:30:46 pm »
hewee thanks not bad news :)


9.11.01

Microsoft® Windows Insider MVP
Freedom's Just Another Word for Nothing Left to Lose..


Offline hewee

  • Most Valuable Member
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2016, 05:29:57 pm »
I got the same on that test hayc59.

But scanning all ports I get this. You need a good firewall to block the pings

Solicited TCP Packets: PASSED — No TCP packets were received from your system as a direct result of our attempts to elicit some response from any of the ports listed below — they are all either fully stealthed or blocked by your ISP. However . . .

Unsolicited Packets: PASSED — No Internet packets of any sort were received from your system as a side-effect of our attempts to elicit some response from any of the ports listed above. Some questionable personal security systems expose their users by attempting to "counter-probe the prober", thus revealing themselves. But your system remained wisely silent. (Except for the fact that not all of its ports are completely stealthed as shown below.)

Ping Reply: RECEIVED (FAILED)Your system REPLIED to our Ping (ICMP Echo) requests, making it visible on the Internet. Most personal firewalls can be configured to block, drop, and ignore such ping requests in order to better hide systems from hackers. This is highly recommended since "Ping" is among the oldest and most common methods used to locate systems prior to further exploitation.

GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2016-09-02 at 16:14:30

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055

    0 Ports Open
    0 Ports Closed
 1056 Ports Stealth
---------------------
 1056 Ports Tested

ALL PORTS tested were found to be: STEALTH.

TruStealth: FAILED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,
                   - NO unsolicited packets were received,
                   - A PING REPLY (ICMP Echo) WAS RECEIVED.
Keep Your Security Software Current
Upgrades, Updates & Definitions
http://www.calendarofupdates.org


Offline hayc59

  • Esquire
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Your A Daisy
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2016, 06:44:18 pm »
I did not see that part..will try again


9.11.01

Microsoft® Windows Insider MVP
Freedom's Just Another Word for Nothing Left to Lose..


Offline mark5019

  • Global Moderator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2016, 07:40:13 pm »
I got the same on that test hayc59.

But scanning all ports I get this. You need a good firewall to block the pings

Solicited TCP Packets: PASSED — No TCP packets were received from your system as a direct result of our attempts to elicit some response from any of the ports listed below — they are all either fully stealthed or blocked by your ISP. However . . .

Unsolicited Packets: PASSED — No Internet packets of any sort were received from your system as a side-effect of our attempts to elicit some response from any of the ports listed above. Some questionable personal security systems expose their users by attempting to "counter-probe the prober", thus revealing themselves. But your system remained wisely silent. (Except for the fact that not all of its ports are completely stealthed as shown below.)

Ping Reply: RECEIVED (FAILED)Your system REPLIED to our Ping (ICMP Echo) requests, making it visible on the Internet. Most personal firewalls can be configured to block, drop, and ignore such ping requests in order to better hide systems from hackers. This is highly recommended since "Ping" is among the oldest and most common methods used to locate systems prior to further exploitation.

GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2016-09-02 at 16:14:30

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055

    0 Ports Open
    0 Ports Closed
 1056 Ports Stealth
---------------------
 1056 Ports Tested

ALL PORTS tested were found to be: STEALTH.

TruStealth: FAILED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,
                   - NO unsolicited packets were received,
                   - A PING REPLY (ICMP Echo) WAS RECEIVED.



mine passed

Offline hayc59

  • Esquire
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Your A Daisy
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2016, 11:49:51 pm »
all passed four times I did this through out the day :)
no firewall...

Quote
GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2016-09-02 at 22:48:01

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055
    0 Ports Open
    0 Ports Closed
 1056 Ports Stealth

---------------------
1056 Ports Tested
ALL PORTS tested were found to be: STEALTH.
TruStealth: PASSED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,
NO unsolicited packets were received,
NO Ping reply (ICMP Echo) was received.


9.11.01

Microsoft® Windows Insider MVP
Freedom's Just Another Word for Nothing Left to Lose..


Offline hewee

  • Most Valuable Member
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2016, 12:25:44 am »
I do not know how to stop the PING REPLY (ICMP Echo) but wish I could. The old 4.x of Zone Alarm Pro I loved and it stopped everything.

On this PC I had the port 113 trouble.

Run scan on all ports to get info on port 133 and look here. https://www.grc.com/port_113.htm
I think I went into the router and made setting change that blocked it.

Wonder if you can still use the old Zone Alarm Pro 4.x on XP Pro. I ran it for years and did not pay after first year to get updates and I like how I could deal with program rights and block what came in or went out on the computer. They used to be really good but new owners made it go downhill. Then Online Armor was really nice but they made changes too and sold program. I won that program and ran a version for year as the Pro version because it had a bug. Bug was it did not change to the free version after year was up. I later got another free version of the program but after year ran out with new owner Emsisoft Anti-Malware + Firewall was the newer software and XP could not run it.

I hate to lose a great program. But XP Pro my time will come so things will end for this computer.
Keep Your Security Software Current
Upgrades, Updates & Definitions
http://www.calendarofupdates.org


Offline Hardhead

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2016, 04:06:04 am »
all passed four times I did this through out the day :)
no firewall...

Quote
GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2016-09-02 at 22:48:01

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055
    0 Ports Open
    0 Ports Closed
 1056 Ports Stealth

---------------------
1056 Ports Tested
ALL PORTS tested were found to be: STEALTH.
TruStealth: PASSED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,
NO unsolicited packets were received,
NO Ping reply (ICMP Echo) was received.

Here's two more test to run.
https://www.grc.com/dns/dns.htm DNS Nameserver Spoofability Test
https://www.grc.com/dns/crashtest.htm Router Crash Test

Offline hayc59

  • Esquire
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Your A Daisy
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2016, 07:58:20 am »
Tim like I want to blow my router up...thank though :)


9.11.01

Microsoft® Windows Insider MVP
Freedom's Just Another Word for Nothing Left to Lose..


Offline Hardhead

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2016, 04:42:44 am »
Tim like I want to blow my router up...thank though :)
It want blow up your router but if it crashes there is reason behind the crash which could result in the development for a new firmware update. ;)

Offline Hardhead

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2016, 04:50:57 am »
I do not know how to stop the PING REPLY (ICMP Echo) but wish I could. The old 4.x of Zone Alarm Pro I loved and it stopped everything.

On this PC I had the port 113 trouble.

Run scan on all ports to get info on port 133 and look here. https://www.grc.com/port_113.htm
I think I went into the router and made setting change that blocked it.

Wonder if you can still use the old Zone Alarm Pro 4.x on XP Pro. I ran it for years and did not pay after first year to get updates and I like how I could deal with program rights and block what came in or went out on the computer. They used to be really good but new owners made it go downhill. Then Online Armor was really nice but they made changes too and sold program. I won that program and ran a version for year as the Pro version because it had a bug. Bug was it did not change to the free version after year was up. I later got another free version of the program but after year ran out with new owner Emsisoft Anti-Malware + Firewall was the newer software and XP could not run it.

I hate to lose a great program. But XP Pro my time will come so things will end for this computer.
I would go with another firewall that works with XP hewee and then do a search online "how to stop the PING REPLY (ICMP Echo)."

Not sure if that answers your question though. :-\

Offline hewee

  • Most Valuable Member
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Do you need a firewall if you have a router?
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2016, 06:12:35 am »
all passed four times I did this through out the day :)
no firewall...

Quote
GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2016-09-02 at 22:48:01

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055
    0 Ports Open
    0 Ports Closed
 1056 Ports Stealth

---------------------
1056 Ports Tested
ALL PORTS tested were found to be: STEALTH.
TruStealth: PASSED - ALL tested ports were STEALTH,
NO unsolicited packets were received,
NO Ping reply (ICMP Echo) was received.

Here's two more test to run.
https://www.grc.com/dns/dns.htm DNS Nameserver Spoofability Test
https://www.grc.com/dns/crashtest.htm Router Crash Test


Your Router Survived !!

DNS Nameserver Spoofability Test I got Good and Bad.  :-\
Keep Your Security Software Current
Upgrades, Updates & Definitions
http://www.calendarofupdates.org